Brace! Brace! Brace!

Torpedo! Torpedo! Torpedo! – – – BOOM!

It does seem to be insulting to the former Pope that some of the items of choir dress Benedict XVI reintroduced are referred to as “carnival” items!

Just the installation Mass to see and the appointments for the Curia (Archbishop Müller is confirmed in office at the CDF) – and we’ll know. Anyway, I’m glad I didn’t “swim” two years ago!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Brace! Brace! Brace!

  1. Dale says:

    I am beginning to wonder what many who DID swim the Tiber are now thinking?

  2. I had read that this comment is only a rumour and that it had been made in regards to the wearing of the ermine. My German is not sufficient to understand this article without a great deal effort. I hope it is only a rumour, otherwise I see no reason why the Holy Father should be so insulting and it’s surely a negative sign. On the other hand, if he did make the remark specifically about the ermine, it might indicate he thinks the papal monarchy with its court is a sort of carnival. That is a different criticism than of the traditional Latin Mass, in my opinion. One is surely much more bogged down with unnecessary excess than the other.

    • This is why I make a careful distinction between items of dress and the liturgy itself. I too prefer a simple and “monastic” style, which is very different from what we might be seeing in the coming years. We must keep an open mind and see good where good is to be seen. I also have enough experience in parishes to know the difference between pastoral ministry and “amateur social engineering” / political correctness.

Leave a Reply

