Quantum Physics Proves Afterlife

I don’t know what to think, not being a scientist, but this news article pointed me to the website of Dr Robert Lanza on Biocentrism. Here is Lanzo’s introduction to his subject.

What seems to be the issue is that science has traditionally excluded life from the equation of studying physics, chemistry and biology, considering things in no more than physical or chemical reactions. For us religious folk, the afterlife seems so evident, a part of revelation and our desire to transcend the material world. It is usually for us a matter of faith and belief.

The afterlife entering the realm of science is an interesting development, and can only encourage us in our quest for the transcendent. Is time only something subjective? My having had the experience of general anaesthesia for a surgical operation a couple of years ago blew my mind. I didn’t experience the time during which I was “under”. The anaesthetist told me to count up to ten, and an instant later I woke up in the recovery room. If time is only subjective, then this has enormous implications.

I can’t vouch for Dr Lanza’s theory having any scientific validity according to the rules of evidence and repeatability. But, I have to admit that I’m fascinated….

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Quantum Physics Proves Afterlife

  1. ed pacht says:

    I can readily see how quantum physics can manage to make life-after-death and other aspects of spirituality seem more plausible. There is indeed much in the philosophizing of various scientists (including the late Carl Sagan) that I have come to appreciate. However, “proof”, in this context, seems to me to be an overkill word. Plausibility, yes, but certainty – well, I think that’s beyond our reach. Faith is a matter of moving beyond the capability of proof and an admission that the human mind, though indeed a powerful thing, is insufficient to deal with ultimate matters on its own.

  2. deathbredon says:

    To quote the Rt. Rev. N.T. Wright, I am much more concerned about life after the after life.

    • I get your point. The soul’s passage to God seems to be progressive, by whatever name anyone might want to call it. We’ll find out one day!

      • ed pacht says:

        Yes! CS Lewis described it well in the concluding volume of his Narnia series, as going ever deeper and ever higher, and the Book of Common Prayer (I’m quoting from the US 1928 version) has two similar passages, one from the Funeral Office and one in the Prayer for the Whole State in the Communion service:

        REMEMBER thy servant, O Lord, according to the favour which thou bearest unto thy people, and grant that, increasing in knowledge and love of thee, he may go from strength to strength, in the life of perfect service, in thy heavenly kingdom; …

        And we also bless thy holy Name for all thy servants departed this life in thy faith and fear; beseeching thee to grant them continual growth in thy love and service, and …

  3. Fr. David Marriott says:

    Father,
    Your speak of your experience with anaesthesia: it was similar for me: at this instant the cold of the IV anaesthetic entered my blood vessels, time ceased! But the other interesting matter is the very elasticity of time which we all experience in our daily life: when you are waiting to start the office, the final minute or two seem to take so very long to pass – whilst as you are late for that important appointment, those same minutes fly by so terribly quickly….. I seem to recall that someone once said that all is relative: and of course, so is human time – it is relative to God’s time, whose nature we cannot comprehend: and as Ed Pacht says, this is the realm of faith.

    • I remember a philosophy professor who compared the time spent having an enjoyable weekend, the last minutes before having to rush out of the house to go to work, or having a horrible poisonous snake crawl over your face and having to keep perfectly still until the danger is passed.

      • Father Martin says:

        Father Anthony,
        Your reference to a venomous snake reminded me of a recent and very pleasant experience I had with one of the four venomous species found in the Southern U S. I was walking along a remote trail on one of our barrier islands. I do most of my hiking in the autumn and winter since our summers are unbearably hot and humid, with giant mosquitoes. It was late afternoon and the sun was low on the horizon, it’s rays resting upon the base of a tree adjacent to the trail. There, enjoying the warm sunlight, was a beautiful copperhead. They’re the least venomous and least aggressive of the four species of our venomous snakes. His scales were very marbled, the overall color was a dark rose, not unlike Gaudete Sunday vestments. He was not the least concerned with my presence, if he’d not been a viper I would have gotten closer and picked him up. However, a similar experience several years ago could’ve had a different outcome. After walking for several miles and drinking a great deal of water, nature called. After finding an appropriate place in the woods, out of the view of any potential passersby, I answered the call. Suddenly in “midstream” I noticed not 18 inches from my right foot lay one of the most aggressive and venomous of all, a water moccasin (aka cotton mouth). I carefully redirected my trajectory and slowly stepped backward. The snake was more concerned with soaking up sun than biting me. But had he bitten me I couldn’t blame him, I’d be p____d off too if I’d been p____d on, wouldn’t you?

Leave a Reply

