Wachet auf, ruft uns die Stimme

Advent arrives once again, and we lose the Gloria and the Ite missa est, at least those of us who follow the Sarum rules. Like the Alleluia silenced in Septuagesima and Lent blooming forth at the Paschal Vigil, the Gloria will return in all its joy on the blessed night of Christmas.

To welcome this new liturgical year, I invite you to listen to Bach’s cantata, Wachet auf, ruft uns die Stimme, BWV 140 in a fine performance by the Amsterdam Baroque Orchestra & Choir conducted by Ton Koopman. I like this light and crisp interpretation.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Wachet auf, ruft uns die Stimme

  1. Father Martin says:

    I built my first harpsichord from a Zuckermann kit in 1969. Forty-four years later my playing is still mediocre. Some of us have it but most of us don’t. Can anyone identify the make of the positiv from which Koopmnn is conducting?

  2. tbm says:

    Thank you, Fr. Anthony. I am a non-musician with a limited “repertoire” of pieces I actually know and return to, but this is one of them. I deny it to myself except during Advent, but I suppose that the “eve” of the first Sunday (current time here in the States) is within bounds!

    I hope you have a blessed Advent.

    -tbm (a “lurker”)

Leave a Reply

