In pace in idipsum

For this Good Friday, I offer you my musical setting of the text In pace in idipsum, which is sung at the Burial of Christ at the end of the Mass of the Presanctified in the Use of Sarum. Our quartet begun to work on it today, and we intend doing more rehearsals to get it right.

Here is a recording I made today just to give an idea. It is, as would be expected, quite ropey and excruciating in places, because the parts are not yet acquired, and we need to do a lot more work on the balance and dynamics of the piece. This is the best I can do for now.

I begin with a short and peaceful homophonic responsory. The verse is sung in a simple fugue-like counterpoint, and is repeated for the Gloria Patri (the Gloria Patri is not sung during the Triduum). I end the piece with an extremely sober coda and a plagal cadence. Here is the score in pdf format. Readers are free to copy and perform it as they want – I just ask them not to plagiarise or claim the composition is theirs.

We will resume work in May, and I’ll do another recording when we get it right.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to In pace in idipsum

  1. Dale says:

    Thank you Fr Anthony, this is quite wonderful.

  2. Stephen K says:

    Oh! How delightful, Father! it sounds almost Josquin de Pres! Anyway I loved it. As an amateur composer of two part motets, I deeply appreciated your composition. I would love to make your quartet a quintet!

  3. David Chislett says:

    Beautiful!

  4. David Llewellyn Dodds says:

    If I ‘found’ this on YouTube or a CD, without annotation, it would never occur to me to think it was not ‘Old Music’!

Leave a Reply

