ISIS Crucifies Christians

As we approach the centenary of World War I, we are confronted by the full horror of the persecution of Christians by ISIS Muslims in Syria and Iraq.

christians-crucified-syriaThe more conservative newspapers and websites give the story. The story goes that the crucified were killed for being too moderate, but others say that they were former Muslims converted to Christianity. The bodies are left for three days. One man out of nine survived his crucifixion. He probably got his throat cut.

There’s nothing I can do but pray for the victims and the barbarians who perpetrated this horror. I can only hope that the west will respond with military force and bring those men to trial. Poetic justice would see those men choking at the end of ropes in a prison gym in some devastated city like Von Ribbentrop and Streicher. Would such a course of action save the world any more now than in 1946? Evil only feeds from evil. I suspect that only war against ISIS and countries who knowingly accept its tyranny will be an adequate response to exorcise this particular demon. As so the twentieth century continues!

I am one of those who believe that Islam comes in as many shades and types as Christianity, from fundamentalism to strict conservative, from liberal to mystical. We can believe in the truth of Christianity and the errors of Islam, but we are called to respect those who do not commit violence or atrocities. That is a subject that the “convert” mentality and liberals will not agree upon. I know too little about Islam, but I have read some things which I don’t need to repeat here. It is not a matter of race or creed, but when they start killing, plundering and raping like the Nazis did, it is a different matter. We condemn them for what they do, not for what they are.

May the blood of these martyrs be upon those who can do something – but who remain silent like in the 1930’s!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to ISIS Crucifies Christians

  1. Jacob Flournoy says:

    The only thing which will halt Radical Islam is death. These murderous barbarians should be rounded up and promptly hanged. I will gladly provide the rope and any other assistance needed!

  2. I believe it consistent with our catholic faith to use force including weaponry in self defence. Particularly so to defend the innocent, the vunerable and the defenceless. I have carried arms in my first career as a police officer. Being known to be of the Christian Faith some colleagues enquired as to why I was prepared to be armed and would I actually kill someone under lawful circumstances. A reasoned reply was given to the first question and the answer to the second question was ‘Yes’

    With regard to the shocking treatment meted out to Christians by ISIS and others elsewhere I regard that as a situation where the use of force would be justified to prevent rape, robbery or murder. I’m grateful to your Diocesan Bishop for speaking out when far too many Bishops have remained silent. I agree with much of what you have written father about war, Many wars have been fought and indeed instigated by my own country outside of the catholic theology of the ‘Just War’ as defined by St Thomas Aquinas and widely accepted by the catholic faithful.

    I am about to enter a formal relationship with the Nordic Catholic Church and I understand that +Roald Nikolai has spoken out concerning these atrocities as indeed has ++ Justin Welby and his Roman Catholic counterpart but why the deafening silence from so many church leaders and political leaders in the West?

    Like yourself Father and I’m sure most regular visitors to this blog I engage in daily prayer for all persecuted christians especially those suffering so much in Syria and Iraq.

    • ed pacht says:

      Perhaps so — there is much to be said in defense of the just war teachings, but also much reason to question whether the limits of just war can truly be kept, especially in these times — there is definitely a case that can be made for capital punishment in serious cases, but also reason to question whether it can indeed be justly administered.

      Be that as it may, there is no arguing with out Lord’s clear dictum that we love our enemies, nor with his expectation that we judge ourselves before judging others. If these remedies can be administered in this mandatory spirit, well then they may be appropriate. But can they? Is our exercise of them done in such a spirit, or is it accompanied with hatred, vindictiveness, and self-justification?

      It’s the heart that matters. Where is our heart in all of this?

      • I’m a pacifist too, having learned too much from the history of two World Wars and this beginning of what could become the third.

        But, what does a country like England do in the face of someone like Hitler? France capitulated and the Nazis turned them against each other. Even family members couldn’t trust each other! I suppose Hitler would have invaded just about the whole world and would have killed every single Jewish man, woman and child on the planet.

        I am myself at sixes and sevens about just war and where the limits are. Do we submit to the Nazis, Communists, ISIS, Al Qaeda, the Taliban, etc. and watch them kill brave young men, torture our children and rape our women?

      • Ed
        Yes we are to love our enemies. I would think that most of those who read Sarum Use regularly would say the Pater Noster on a daily basis. Personally I have found great spiritual release in forgiving people who have trespassed against me. Another focus of Scripture is of course to concern ourselves with repentance of our own sins before casting proverbial stones at others.

        Having recently celebrated the Solemnity of St Mary Magdelene I would particularly wish to avoid commenting on the sins of others but rather concentrate on my own. However that said I must in all honesty state that I do not withdraw a word of what I have written above.There are times in this very difficult world when we must resist evil and protect the helpless, the vulnerable, especially women and children, and the innocent.

        I do not advocate the use of force and the resort to weaponry lightly but sometimes under the Triune God who we follow and worship such a course of action is justified, righteous and necessary.As a catholic christian I reaffirm my commitment here to the teachings of St Thomas Aquinas in this matter. I believe that this beloved saint was writing under the direction, oversight and sovereignty of the Holy Spirit when setting forth this doctrine to the world.

      • Jacob Flounoy says:

        Ed,
        I can say that I am a pacifist………….. as long as you do not deprive me of my rights. However, once you cross that line I am willing to defend myself and others with deadly force without the slightest hesitation. I have a colleague who is also a priest,a retired policeman and a Vietnam War veteran, he and I agree on this subject. If Christians continue to turn the other cheek there will soon be no Christians. I work in the funeral industry, I have seen many corpses, some the result of murder (a beautiful young women raped and bludgeoned to death by inner-city gang members and an obviously homosexual male tortured and killed in the most horrific manner because of his sexual preference). Had it been within my power to intervene using deadly force I would have “in the twinkling of an eye”. To those who cannot resort to these methods I can only ask, when they come for you will you die quietly or expect those of us who are willing to take up arms to come to your aid? If I am wrong in this I can only ask that God sort it out. God helps those who help themselves.

  3. I retired to my bed early after considerable walking today in the warm sun we have had this summer in Cornwall. Though very tired I reflected upon the issues we have raised here. I thought about a recent series ‘Nazi Collaborators’ which was shown on the Yesterday Channel. One episode in particular in Lithuania.

    The local auxiliary police unit set up by the SS and staffed by Lithuanians emptied a town of Jewish inhabitants and marched them to a nearby ravine where they were all shot. Their bodies tumbled down.
    There was a picture taken at the time showing a couple of young girls of around 4 or 5 years of age.
    In death they looked angelic. I noticed that their parents had dressed them properly against the cold.
    They were wearing mittens. They even looked serene in death. It was a haunting image.

    I believe for reasons of sound catholic theology that these little ones are alive in eternity,are encompassed by love and experience no more fear.Now I have to say brethren that none of us standing in the presence of Our Saviour can stand by, do nothing, and let such things happen. I say with conviction that occasions arise in this world when we must resist great evil with an armed response.

  4. chamane says:

    excusez que je m ‘exprime en français; je suis un belge qui ne maitrise pas bien l’ anglais
    pour répondre à un commentaire: en france, on peut manifester contre la politique d’ Israel, mais il est interdit de s’ en prendre aux juifs; ces messieurs sont priés d’ être clairs à ce sujet
    quant aux persécutions des chrétiens, ces imbéciles n’ ont même pas lu le coran, où Dieu prescrit de ne pas juger les monothéistes
    et ce qui est scandaleux, c’ est que de peur de déplaire à une communauté, les journalistes dans leur ensemble n’ aient pas publié cette photo; elle aurait été l’occasion pour les imams de condamner les excès et d’appeler à la tolérance interreligieuse, car il va de soi que de telles images scandalisent autant la majorité des musulmans que les chrétiens…

    • Translation of Chaman’s comment:

      Please excuse me for expressing myself in French. I am Belgian and my English isn’t good.

      To answer a comment: in France, you can demonstrate against the politics of Israel, but it is illegal to go after the Jews. These gentlemen are asked to be clear on this subject.

      As for the persecutions of Christians, these imbeciles haven’t even read the Koran, where God prescribes that monotheists are not to be judged.

      What is scandalous is that from fear of offending a community, journalists overall haven’t published this photo. It would have been the occasion for imams to condemn excesses and appeal for inter-religious tolerance, because it is obvious that such images scandalise most Muslims as much as Christians…

    • I am careful in this blog not to incite to any intolerance of people because of their race or creed. Evil people are judged for the evil they do, which was one of the principles that came from the Nuremberg Tribunal in 1946. Murder, rape, pillage and extortion are crimes in any country – punishable by very long terms of imprisonment or death in some countries.

    • Stephen K says:

      Permettez-moi, Chamane, faire une traduction, pour nous lecteurs anglo-phones ici. (With your permission, Chamane, I will set out a translation for us English-speakers.)

      Please excuse me for expressing myself in French: I am Belgian and I have not mastered English well enough for responding to a (blog) commentary. In France, one can take a position against the policies of Israel, but it is forbidden to take it against Jews.
      These blokes are assumed to be clear on the subject of the persecution of Christians; these imbeciles have not even read the Koran, in which God commands (us) not to judge monotheists and what is scandalous, is that for fear of displeasing a community, the journalists as a whole have not published this photo. It should have been an opportunity for the imams to condemn such excesses and to call for inter-religious tolerance, for there is no doubt that such images scandalize the majority of Muslims as much as Christians.

      • Stephen, your translating skills are much to be commended! I tend to err on the “literal” side as most of my professional translating work is technical – and has to be very accurate. You have turned Chamane’s text very nicely.

Leave a Reply

