The Great Meltdown

Update from Sunday 17.55 GMT:

Father Stephen Smuts has completed the maintenance work on his blog, and there are new articles.

* * *

I begin to be quite “alone” as this blog somehow continues to be of some interest and good to others in circumstances unknown to me.

Since The Anglo-Catholic went into hiatus, we have had to look all around to continue to have news about the TAC and its attempt to regroup and reconstruct its strengths after the advent of the Ordinariates. Father Stephen Smuts in South Africa took up the flag and has been most assiduous in providing us with news and views about the Ordinariates and the continuation of the TAC, often at the expense of the former Primate. This blog has been “under maintenance” for a little over a week, and most of us know that blogs need no maintenance. Comments continue to appear from time to time. It looks like hiatus to me, but we are all free to do what we want. I have had my own meltdowns through over-sensitivity to trolls.

Foolishness to the World is still going, and Deborah Gyapong keeps us informed about developments in Canada and other places where Anglicans have become Roman Catholics and / or joined the Ordinariates. I have always enjoyed collaborating with her, a professional journalist and talented writer, and a devout Christian.

St Mary’s Hollywood: The Cold Case File has appeared, run by a journalist called John Bruce, and he – from the point of view of a convert to the Roman Catholic Church – is writing about the remains of the TAC. I assume he engages his own liability before the law and is careful about what he writes. The main issue is the débâcle (déconfiture is another nice French word) of that nice neo-baroque church in Hollywood presently claimed by the TAC.

The Ordinariate Portal hasn’t moved for a long time. I think it has just been discontinued. Anglican Patrimony is still producing Ordinariate news and sympathetic articles. Fr. Hunwicke’s Liturgical Notes has a bit of a comeback with the good Father’s scholarly articles, but he probably no longer has much time for blogging. Father Ed Bakker’s Blog produces spiritual articles and the occasional nostalgic sigh.

The Continuum of Fr Robert Hart is now quiet, as he and other priests have been afflicted with illness and exhaustion. They need our prayers. The archives of this blog show highly polemical articles from the heady days of the TAC in its Hepworth era. Posterity will judge. Also from the Anglican Catholic Church – Original Province is Deacon Jonathan Munns blog O cuniculi! Ubi lexicon Latinum posui? which shows intellectual ability and resourcefulness.

Virtue Online is an old classic, and is not sympathetic to extra-mural Anglicanism or Anglo-Catholicism. It is worth looking at frequently, with a mind to check out facts against other sources of known reliability.

In the Roman Catholic world, we have the Australian Catholica Forum from an ultra-liberal and anti-Pell perspective. On the traditionalist side, there is Rorate Caeli. Fr Z  battles on with great constancy, and you either love him or hate him! There are the Vatican-watcher old favourites www.chiesa and Whispers in the Loggia if you like that kind of thing. Damian Thompson used to be a real battleaxe with the English liberal RC bishops, but he is more concerned with English politics these days. If you have a taste for the exotic, there are Traditio and Novus Ordo Watch – it helps to share their particular convictions, as objectivity flies out of the window.

For those of us contemplating the rotting leaves of the TAC, there isn’t an awful lot left.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The Great Meltdown

  1. Pingback: Some Blog of Interest « Fr Stephen Smuts

  2. John Bruce says:

    Fr Chadwick, thank you for your kind comments about my blog. In the interests of truth in labeling — I’m working on a post today that covers the same issue — I should point out that while there is no formal certification requirement for “journalist”, I have never been paid as a regular employee of any media enterprise, though I’ve had freelance submissions published. I have sometimes worked as a professional technical writer and have an advanced degree in English literature. However, most of my career was spent in the computer industry, from which I am retired. So I’m just a garden-variety blogger making no claim of respectablility! My wife, a retired attorney, does review my posts, but I rely heavily on the public record in any case.

  3. William Tighe says:

    Fr. Smut’s blog is back, in a new (and somewhat confusing – the recent comments appear to have appeared on their respective threads in non-chronological order) format:

    http://frstephensmuts.wordpress.com/

  4. Stephen M says:

    Please pray for Fr John Hunwicke. I learned yesterday that he had a serious accident while on holiday in Rome, and has had to have major reconstructive surgery. I have no further details, other than that he has weeks if not months of recovery still ahead of him.

    For those of us contemplating the rotting leaves of the TAC, there isn’t an awful lot left.
    This is probably a good thing – at least for me. TAC-watching has become a guilty secret and very distasteful: what began as genuine interest in the mechanics of unity has turned into ogling at a funeral. I imagine that it is rather different for those who were once part of the TAC, but in my case I’m grateful for fewer outlets to tempt me into voyeurism. Especially on those blogs which I enjoy reading for their other articles.

    • William Tighe says:

      I have confirmed that he was seriously injured, breaking his left humeral bone, by falling down the stairs of St. Peter’s as he was leaving the basilica, Ithink four weeks ago tomorrow. Of your charity, please remember him in your prayers.

      • Thank you. I will be remembering Fr Hunwicke at my daily Mass. I ask all my readers to do likewise.

        Such accidents happen so easily – I fell down a few steps in my house about five years ago and I had pain in my right shoulder for a whole year and didn’t have full movement in my right arm for about the same time. I’m lucky because I completely recovered. I pray the same will be for the good Father Hunwicke.

  5. Jim of Olym says:

    God bless F. John Hunwicke in his recovery. Long may he wave!

  6. Jim of Olym says:

    PS I’m now 77 years old and have never had such a fall, except one years ago that invoved a chain saw. Fortunately I had only a mid scratch and could drive myseklf to the Emergency room.

Leave a comment