English Catholic blog is gone forever

Some former readers of the English Catholic blog might come here to find out what happened. I have simply deleted the blog for my own spiritual health and peace of mind. Only two pages have been kept on the Wayback Machine archive, so that avenue will prove parsimonious for those who have not saved the blog to their hard disks.

I have saved the entire blog to my hard disk, and I am prepared to give copies of single articles on request. I keep it as an archive, which may one day prove useful to anyone writing a book on the history of the TAC, Continuing Anglicanism and the Ordinariates. The data and information have not been destroyed.

I have not done this on a whim or in anger, but after mature consideration. It is true that some cast aspersions on my credibility because I had announced that I was going to cease blogging and resumed when I “felt better”, or however one might put it. The Internet can be addictive for some, but I do not believe I have an emotional or irrational attachment to blogging. For me, it is simply communication with other people, just what journalists and authors do. Time marches on and things change in life. It has been a hard battle, and my intention was educational and pastoral, but one cannot win out against bigotry and hatred. I therefore bring all discussions of Continuing Anglicanism and Anglicanism in the Roman Catholic Church (for want of a better generic expression) to a close. Those subjects are off-topic on this blog, both for me and for those who wish to write comments.

I will ban those whom I deem to be attempting to proselytise for any particular Church or ecclesial community. I will similarly sanction those who behave in the manner of trolls. I ask for little, simply that you behave as if we were in conversation in the physical presence of all involved. It is just a question of kindness and consideration for other people. Anonymity on the Internet is a source of great evil, and I will do everything possible to learn from my experience of the English Catholic. I am more street-wise now, so know what signs to look for.

As the Sun in its Orb is dedicated to liturgy, theology and religious culture, with an occasional spiritual reflection on my favourite non-religious hobby (alongside choral and organ music) – sailing. I ask commenters and readers to help me keep this blog free of nastiness, bigotry, polemics and the factors that compelled me to close the English Catholic blog.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to English Catholic blog is gone forever

  1. Patricius says:

    Very wise, father; although I shall miss the English Catholic, for my part. What to do with Liturgiae Causa?

    • From my own experience, stick to the original subject and stay away from polemical subjects and personal issues. Don’t provoke, like burning liturgical texts (I celebrate SS Philip & James on 1st May) and keep quiet when you don’t feel inspired. Don’t force a blog. Keep the demons away by not feeding them!

  2. As I have already told Fr. Anthony, I am sorry the blog has been extinguished, as it provided an historical archive for a good portion of the preparations for Anglicanorum coetibus.

    I have created a new blog that has the post I would have put on the English Catholic this morning
    http://foolishnesstotheworld.wordpress.com/

  3. fatherian1 says:

    Father Anthony
    Just to say a grateful thank you for staying the course, for so long with the ‘English Catholic’ you have provided a window for so many into Continuing Anglican history, whilst allowing a process of understanding with regard to Anglicanorum coetibus – many will benefit from the Archives you hold for the future.

  4. Paul Nicholls ofs says:

    As I sit here, sipping a glass of French wine, which I rarely do, in the middle of the day, I wonder why people just can’t be decent and tolerant with one another. There are times when a cave in the Egyptian desert or a cell in the Carthusian monastery of the Grand Chartreuse seem very appealing to me or a little hemitage in close proximity to a certain chapel in Normandy would suit me just fine,

  5. Paul Nicholls ofs says:

    PS I don’t think my last comment was polemical, but it does indicate a subtle prejudice in promoting a more eremitical life style, away from all this vitriole and bitterness. Of course, I exclude any reference towards you Fr, Chadwick, in that I suspect your sentiments are close to mine.

    • Thank you for your two kind comments. The key to this problem is simply one of tolerance against an “insane passion for truth”. Humanity has not changed, though each of us has that “spark of divinity” that can change everything. I always remember my mother saying that we should not listen to those who do not have our good at heart. She was right. How much do we care about each other? That is why I cannot discern Christ in the voices of those who howl and bray for blood, or on the other hand shuffle papers on a desk and don’t bother looking you in the eye!

      We have to learn tolerance.

Leave a comment